by Soapy Jefferson

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price




“As soon as the album’s title track opens proceedings the scope of musicianship within the band becomes evident. The beautifully atmospheric ‘Balloon’ sets the tone for songs that deserve to be heard, rather than trigger happy musicians demanding to be acknowledged. The music is delivered confidently while the vocals purr along in approval.”

***** Music review unsigned

"I would compare the composition and production of each song on the album to looking at a chest of treasure, every piece is a unique and well crafted gem. The rich multitude of well placed instrumentation and subtly delightful sound-scapes, combined with Josh’s beautifully understated voice and at times, laid back delivery makes for a very inspiring and uplifting listen indeed."

Samantha Jean Scuffham, The Secret Showcase Presents

Soapy Jefferson are an alternative-blues-folk band from South London. Their sound draws influence from some of the most distinctive musical figures of the past century – Leadbelly, Tom Waits, Sparklehorse, Arcade Fire, Nick Cave. Fronted by the strikingly distinctive voice of Josh Mills and supported by a band of instinctive, sympathetic musicians, Soapy Jefferson have created a unique sound that is familiar but difficult to define.

Originally formed as an acoustic trio in late 2009, the band soon developed a darker, heavier, more atmospheric sound that evolved from many hours spent playing music together. They spent early 2010 gigging mainly in their native Croydon, crafting songs that would be featured on their debut EP ‘Carnival’.

2011 was spent writing, gigging and fine-tuning the songs that would eventually become ‘Balloon’. Most of the recording took place in a mansion in South London where the band lived for 2 weeks, a setting which contributed a distinctive atmosphere and sound that can be heard throughout the album. Produced by Shelley Uprichard and Jim Hewins, and featuring a multitude of instruments including guitars, harmonium, double bass, a cement mixer, grand piano and a brass band, ‘Balloon’ is a strong representation of a special band that are continually evolving and developing. Look out for a number of surprises and new releases in 2013.

For more info. visit or Fill out the contact form or message the band on facebook to be added to the mailing list.


released December 17, 2012

Balloon was recorded throughout 2011 and 2012 with the kind help of:

Produced, engineered and mixed by Shelley Uprichard and Jim Hewins
Mastered by Ch1nstrap
Recorded at Greenways, Purley in May-August 2011 and in various locations between January-March 2012.

Tirzah Mastin- harp (4) and vocals (5)
Sam Martin- violin (1)
Friary Guildford Brass Band- brass (9)
Jon Roffey- saxophone (6)
Shelley Uprichard- glockenspiel (3), clocks (4)

Album artwork and band logo designed by Noellie Fournier
‘Balloon’ video by Tom Lyle Severn

The members of Soapy Jefferson who worked on ‘Balloon’ are:

Joe Flynn: electric guitar, acoustic guitar (4,8), piano (5)
Jim Hewins: bass, backing vocals, double bass (1,5,9), wurlitzer (7)
James Mallett: cello, melodica, piano (3)
Josh Mills: vocals, guitar, harmonica (5), banjo (6)
Dan Mulcahy: drums/percussion, piano (9), organ (8), harmonium (1), synth (4)

All songs written by Josh Mills. Brass arrangement for Next Exit by Jim Hewins.



all rights reserved


Soapy Jefferson UK

contact / help

Contact Soapy Jefferson

Streaming and
Download help